Grateful Child – Proverbs 22:6

 

Image result for train your child bible verse
Credit: King James Bible Online

 

As time passes by and as I grow older each year everything that I was created for is gradually integrating into my inner being.

Looking back I was just a little girl that on the first glance you’d think that I came from a black tribe. Well yeah, I spent almost half of my current age, living in a remote area called Hacienda.

 

 

Living on the farm wasn’t easy at all, in fact, it was a sort of a daily survival, but we made it! 

When I turned six, I started going to NES which definitely gave me different types of aches like a headache, foot ache, stomach ache, tooth ache to name a few – and why? Because I found it hard to wake up early in the morning during school days to prepare our needs for school.

My other siblings and I had to walk every single day for the entire six years until we finish our Elementary Education. Those experiences were very challenging for us at our age. After six years of struggling, I was proclaimed as the School Valedictorian of our batch.  As the saying goes hard work pays off.

During my childhood years, my late Father who passed away when I was only twelve, used to tell me to always speak my mind out especially if I am in the position to do so. My late father taught me to fight for what I know is right and noble and at the same time he also encouraged me to remain humble, fair, honest, and be of service to other people especially to my siblings and to the less fortunate ones.

Furthermore, my very industrious and not so sweet but wise mother imparted me the principles of learning what to prioritize in life. When I was a kid she never failed to wake us up as early as 5 o’clock in the morning and if we won’t do so, she will grab something to hit our roof to create a very annoying noise, until we’ll have no choice but to just get up.

At times, she also used her very annoying mouth to distract us from sleeping some more in the morning. Her mouth was like a machine gun but we don’t hate her for doing that to us, in fact, we treasure it and we miss it these days.

My dear Nanay also taught me to be frugal and I am thankful she did. 

Now, I realized what I learned during my younger years have really molded me to be a better woman.

As a concerned citizen, I would like to give this unsolicited advice to all the parents that might have the chance to read this post, “always train your children in a way that when they grow up they will never depart from it”. I often heard most generations these days, blaming their parents for being so irresponsible – not merely because they were not provided with the material things they need but because they were not nurtured with words of wisdom they essentially needed.

My siblings and I weren’t raised having much in terms of material things, but I can tell that we have moral values. At my age, when my mother tells me to do one favor for her, I immediately do it because I know that is the right thing to do, and that, there is no way I can repay my mother for giving birth to me and for raising me well.

The time parents invest nurturing the heart and mind of their children will definitely go a long way and they will spread that among other people they come across with. Good values are contagious; please let us not prevent the young generations to share what is good and remarkable.

Leave a Reply

