My Nanay’s Struggle

momMy amazing mother Mrs. Del Castillo wasn’t a degree holder but she raised us well and gave us more reasons to appreciate life, and be truly thankful for what we have. She made our lives better even if our father died when I was only 12.

 

My Tatay died due to blood loss caused by multiple injuries of gun shots and lacerations when I was young. The bad guys killed him! It was ruthless but I believe vengeance is the hands of God. 

Nanay had to go through a lot of hardships and difficulties in order to provide our needs and to send us to a prestigious school. She never thought of buying her wants, and even her personal needs, all she wanted was for us, her children, to finish our studies and have better lives. From the moment our Tatay died, Nanay never stopped sleeping late at night and waking up early in the morning to make sure that our needs were completely provided.

My Nanay is a farmer, and a business minded woman. When she goes to the farm, with all her strength she brought different kinds of stuff she could sell to her co-workers. She ignored the heat of the sun because she loves us. Due to hard work on the farm under the heat of the sun, she got dark skin, dirty nails, and noticeable crack on her feet. Every time I saw her, I couldn’t think of anything but to wish that I was rich so my mother will no longer work on the farm to feed us.

Despite her struggle, she never complained at all. All she wanted was for us, her children to finish our studies. I am now a degree holder and graduated as an Awardee.

On March 3, 2012, my Nanay had a stroke that caused her to get confined in the ICU for four days. I thought it was the end of the world for my Nanay but God saved her.

Leave a Reply

